The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science – Open for Nominations
Announcement | March 4, 2019

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science is an element of the Inspiring Australia – Science Engagement Programme. The prizes recognise the achievements and success of Australian scientists and innovators to both Australia and internationally, as well as the critical role science educators play in inspiring and encouraging students to take an interest in science and consider science as a career.

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science will award up to $750,000 in total each year. Each prize recipient receives a medallion, lapel pin, prize money and an award certificate.

Science Prizes

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Science is awarded for a significant advancement of knowledge through science.
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation is awarded for the innovative translation of scientific knowledge into a commercially available product, service or process that has had economic, social and where relevant environmental benefits.
  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year and Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year each recognise an exceptional achievement in science that benefits, or has the potential to benefit, human welfare or society.
  • The Prize for New Innovators recognises an exceptional early achievement towards partial or full commercialisation of scientific research with substantial economic, social and where relevant environmental benefits.

How to nominate:
A prize nomination must be proposed by someone (a nominator) with knowledge of the nominee’s achievements and endorsed by two supporters. Nominators for the Science Prizes must also provide three independent referees.

The nomination process involves two stages.

  • Stage 1: where the nominator, provides a 500-word summary of the nominee’s achievement against the merit criteria for the particular prize.
  • Stage 2: where, if a nominee has been shortlisted, we invite the nominator and two supporters to prepare a more detailed submission addressing the relevant merit criteria.

For further information, please visit